|
|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
Hi,
Just been looking about and came across this site: unlock nokia 6680 They appear to offer unlock codes for the nokia 6680 for £3.00. Anyone know if this is a scam or not? as far as i am aware there isn't an unlock solution yet? cheers
|
|
#2
|
|||
|
|||
|
Only one way to find out. If it is a scam, it's a damn well thought up one, coz no one would think scammers would offer something for as little as £3, but then you think about how much people would want to do it, and you realise how the figured will start to add up.
|
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
|
Must admit the site looks pretty professional, but then again it wouldnt be that hard to put together would it?
Just typed in a random imei and got a generated e-mail saying my code was ready and basically pay the 3 quid and i can have it. Interestingly though, they dont appear to have a solution for the 6630?
|
|
#6
|
||||
|
||||
|
@gorilla - no danger of phishing unless you are going to offer your PayPal username and login, which of course you should never do. The only thing you'd be required to do on that site is make payment by PayPal which you do on eBay anyway (one assumes). You make payment to them via the PayPal secure website only.
AFAIK there is no released method to unlock the 6680 via code - no doubt Nokia and the mobile ops have the facility but it has not been "leaked" into the mainstream unlocker community yet (again, afaik). The unlocker peeps are busy working on cracking the BB5 code but that has not been done yet, or at least products to unlock BB5 have not come out yet. I'd expect that to be imminent (and pricey to the unlockers and their customers). So 3 quid for an unlock of the 6680? Not sure if that is good business or commercial suicide. The only thing I'd say is don't risk it just yet as if something goes wrong with the code/phone you may be on a sticky wicket getting it fixed under warranty with your mobile op and that'd be an expensive paper weight!
|
|
#7
|
|||
|
|||
|
Just done a little dinging into this site and I have found the following information
This is the personal web address of the site owner/registrant. http://www.gallagher.uk.net/ There is also a link from this website to his unlocking site The guy is from Barnsley and his name is Paul Gallagher. I also have his phone number and no I am not going to publish on here. He also advertisers at the bottom of the site as a limited company and the company is not limited. I have also called him and reminded him if he his going to pull off a scam then he needs to remember to opt out of the whois database for websites or he will get caught. I assured me that he was Genuine and I asked about the 6680 and he said he could unlock it. I am still not convinced and I live about 20 mins drive from him so I am going to check the address
|
|
#8
|
|||
|
|||
|
Well i just thought what the hell its only 3 quid, filled in imei etc. and havent received anything. it says the unlocking codes will be displayed immediately but nothing. checked my e-mail-nothing. have just e-mailed him to find out whats going on.
Will let you all know what happens-if anything!
|
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
If you dont get anywere I will PM you the landline number to call him
|
|
#10
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
Cheers for the offer m8, but just did a bit of digging and got it myself, with his addy etc. will give him couple of hours and see what happens first. Trust me to choose to be the guinea pig! oh well i guess i posted the link in the first place!
|
|
#13
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
Anynews yet, I have just tried calling number again and no answer now
|
|
#15
|
||||
|
||||
|
Ok, well the website's IP is 217.77.181.45 which belongs to Titan Internet Ltd. I strongly advise, if the matter is not resolved to your satisfaction, emailing with details that the website it is providing hosting/connectivity to is a scam. (if it is a scam
)
|
|
#19
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
LMFAO "Tech Support" no doubt? Do we know how old this kid is then? I predict we're witnessing the birth of another Richard Branson P'raps the unlock codes will get sent now school is out. Oh, call me a cynical ole bu99er if you like but this smells like a very smelly thing.
|
|
#20
|
|||
|
|||
|
Hi,
Just had the 'pleasure' of talking to his mum too. apparently he is 'working away at the moment' i pointed out that as it appears he is commiting a fraud in that he is taking money for a service that he cannot provide then she should get used to the 'being away' bit! All she kept saying was that 'no, i am sure he wouldnt do that' ...oh dear i think we have a little mummys boy here! Anyway i told her what it appears her son has been up to (and she seemed a little shocked when i told her her sons address) so i would imagine our little mummys boy may be in for a little spanking and getting sent to bed with out any tea...diddums!! ffs this is almost worth my 3 quid!
|